Honorary Degrees
1918 - Present

Larry R. Faulkner 
Doctor of Science  2000
Status: conferred

Larry R. Faulkner, innovative chemist and educational leader, was named the 27th president of the nation's largest university - the University of Texas at Austin - in April 1998. As a scientist, he co-invented the cybernetic potentiostat and has received numerous awards for his achievements in chemistry. These include the 1998 Charles N. Reilly Award of the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry honoring 30 years of research in electrochemistry and analytical chemistry; the American Chemical Society's Award in Analytical Chemistry, and the U.S. Department of Energy Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement in Materials Chemistry. He has taught at Harvard University, the University of Illinois, and the University of Texas at Austin, and has published more than 120 scientific papers and directed 40 doctoral theses. Dr. Faulkner earned his Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry at SMU in 1966 with Phi Beta Kappa honors, then earned his Ph.D. in chemistry in only three years from UT-Austin in 1969. For his sustained and brilliant contributions to the field of chemical science and for his outstanding leadership of the flagship university of the UT system, Southern Methodist University is honored to confer upon Larry R. Faulkner the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa.