Retired Faculty
2009 - Present

C. W. Smith 
Dedman College  2012

C. W. Smith, Professor of English in Dedman College, joined the SMU faculty in 1980 after earning his B.A. at North Texas State University and his M.A. from Northern Illinois University. He was named SMU's 2006 Dedman Family Distinguished Professor. He received many teaching awards for his courses, primarily in fiction writing. Professor Smith is the author of nine novels, a collection of short stories and a memoir. He has been honored for his writing with numerous awards. The Texas Institute of Letters gave him two Jesse H. Jones Awards for the best novel about Texas and the Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story, and named him a Lon Tinkle Fellow for "sustained excellence in a career." His other honors include the Southwestern Library Association Award for Best Novel, two National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowships and the Dobie-Paisano Creative Writing Fellowship. He retires as Professor Emeritus of English.