Retired Faculty
2009 - Present

Tony  Pederson 
Meadows School of the Arts  2023

Tony W. Pederson, professor of journalism, retired at the end of the spring 2023 term after 20 years at the University. Pederson served 19 years as the Belo Foundation Endowed Distinguished Chair in Journalism. He earned his B.A. from Baylor University and M.A. from Ohio State University. Before coming to SMU, Pederson was senior vice president and executive editor of the Houston Chronicle. Pederson served as a Pulitzer Prize juror and chair of the Pulitzer Prize International Committee 2001-2002. His teaching focused on ethics in news media, and he taught 14 years in the SMU-in-London Program. He served as president of the Inter American Press Association in 1999 and president of the accrediting council for schools of journalism and mass communication in Latin America from 2006 to 2018. He was a member of the founding board of the SMU Human Rights Program. He received the "M" Award, Thomas W. Tunks Distinguished Citizenship Award, Meadows School of the Arts Distinguished Professor Award and Willis M. Tate Award. Pederson is a fellow at the Charles Overby Center for Southern Journalism and Politics at the University of Mississippi, where he will continue writing and lecturing. He retires as professor emeritus in journalism.