Retired Faculty
2009 - Present

Patty  Wisian-Neilson 
Dedman College  2019

Patty J. Wisian-Neilson (Dr. Patty), professor of chemistry in Dedman College, joined the SMU faculty in 1984 after earning her B.S. at Texas Lutheran College and her Ph.D. at The University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Patty received the following SMU honors: Perrine Prize from Phi Beta Kappa, President's Associates Outstanding Faculty Award, Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor, H.O.P.E. Professor of the Year and Distinguished H.O.P.E. Professor. She also received the W.T. Doherty Award of the American Chemical Society and was a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Scholar. She served on more than 20 SMU committees and councils. Dr. Patty's research centers on polyphosphazenes. Major funding for her work came from the National Science Foundation, the United States Army Research Office, the Robert A. Welch Foundation and the Petroleum Research Fund of the American Chemical Society. She published over 95 peer-reviewed articles, received three patents and gave 50 invited research talks and over 125 presentations at national and international research meetings. Dr. Patty holds a special place in her heart for the research students she mentored while at SMU: 24 postdoctoral, 3 Ph.D., 9 M.S. and 55 undergraduate. She retires as Professor Emeritus of Chemistry.