Meadows at the Winspear

Event Information


The Margot and Bill Winspear Opera House

2403 Flora Street, Dallas, Texas

Thursday, March 9, 2023

The 30th annual benefit concert for SMU Meadows will renew the celebrated collaboration between the Meadows Symphony Orchestra, led by conductor Michelle Merrill (B.M. ’06, M.M. ’12), and the Meadows Dance Ensemble. The program will spotlight the internationally-recognized choreographic talents of Adam Hougland, Pascal Rioult, Kimberley Cooper, Michelle Gibson and Brandi Coleman.

Proceeds from the event will benefit the Meadows Impact Scholarship Fund to support promising undergraduate and graduate students across all divisions from all backgrounds to foster a more vibrant and inclusive creative community.

Become a

Please select your level of support:

$15,000 Maestro Level - details

$10,000 Soloist Level - details

$5,000 Conductor Level - details

$2,500 Principal Level - details

$1,500 Sponsorship Level - details

I am unable to attend the event, but would like to make a tax-deductible contribution.

Clicking the "Next" button will transfer you to SMU’s giving page to complete your transaction.

For tax deduction or additional information, please contact the Meadows Giving Office at or 214.768.4189.

Space at the event is limited. Reservations will be taken in the order they are received.

Individual Tickets

Tickets can be purchased to the concert only by visiting

If you have any questions about purchasing tickets to this performance, contact 214-880-0202.
To find out more about tickets to other Meadows School of the Arts events, contact the Meadows Box Office at 214-768-2787.


BARBARA THOMAS LEMMON is a civic leader and philanthro­pist who is well known for her stalwart support of the arts and her caring nature. Born in Pine Bluff, Arkansas and a graduate of Pine Bluff High School, Mrs. Lemmon attended Texas Woman’s University and Henderson College before becoming a “transplanted Texan.” An active volunteer, Mrs. Lemmon has served on the Meadows Executive Board since 2001 and is an active member of the Meadows Campaign Steering Committee. She has been involved with several SMU initiatives, which include co-founding the Don Jackson Women’s Financial Class and supporting the Meadows Scholars Program, Perkins Chapel renovation and the transformation of our Meadows visual arts center.

Outside of SMU, Mrs. Lemmon’s passion and generosity have impacted numerous other organizations including the AT&T Performing Arts Center, the Dallas Museum of Art, Dallas Historical Society, M.D. Anderson, the Living Legend luncheon committee, U.T. Southwestern and Clements Hospital.
Mrs. Lemmon has one son, Dr. Michael Thomas ’94, who is the Director of the Edith O’Donnell Institute of Art History at UT Dallas.

Meadows at the Winspear Leadership Panel

Algur H. Meadows Dean
Samuel S. Holland, Ph.D.

Meadows Executive Board
Jennifer Burr Altabef ’78, ’81
Sarah Fullinwider Perot ’83
Vice Chair

Candace Alley
Anita Arnold
Jorge Baldor ’93
Belle Berg ’71
Stephanie Chantilis Bray ’85
Diane Brierley
Brad Burns ’87
Julie Butler ’92
Diane W. Byrd ’89
Jeanne Marie Clossey ’89
Tracy Copeland ’82
Martin Cox ’75
Frances Cudjoe-Waters
Linda Pitts Custard ’60
Pedie Danis ’95
Barbara Daseke
Giles Davidson
Rick del Monte
Sean Donovan ’96
Laura Elcock
Matrice Ellis-Kirk
Bess Enloe ’60
Linda Perryman Evans
Heather E. Furniss ’82
Linda Gibbons
Clarence Gilyard, Jr. ’06
Doyle Glass ’84, ’88
Pilar Henry
Kelli Herd ’83
Ann Hobson
Joseph F. Hubach
Shemara Jeyarajah
Gene C. Jones
Barbara Lemmon
Pedro Lerma, Jr.
Charlene Marsh ’91
Sara Martineau
Stacey McCord ’92
Sharon McCullough
Scott J. McLean ’78
Peter M. Miller
Miguel Molina ’11
Francie Moody-Dahlberg ’91
Edwin S. Morgan ’93
Pat Morgan-McEvoy
Alfreda B. Norman ’81
Marc V. Patrick ’93
Eric Paulson ’80
Anne Spivey Paup ’73
D.J. “Shangela” Pierce ’03
Caren H. Prothro
Paul Rasmussen ’04
Helen Risch
Kristen Roberts ’91
Frank Roby ’74
Martha Peak Rochelle ’76
Cindy Schwartz ’79
Marvin Singleton ’89
Nicole Sexton ’87
Claire Spaht ’94
Lincoln Stephens
Steven Stodghill
Elisa Summers
Emily Rich Summers ’66
Barb Sypult
Regina Taylor ’81
Andy Teller ’86
Mary Ann H. Till
Brad Todd
Debbie Tolleson
Lisa Troutt
Gail Turner
Heather Washburne
Jamie Gilmer Williams ’68

Ex-officio Members

Brad E. Cheves
Vice President for Development and External Affairs

David B. Miller ’72, ’73 
Chair, SMU Board of Trustees

Samuel S. Holland, Ph.D.
Algur H. Meadows Dean

Elizabeth G. Loboa, Ph.D.
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

R. Gerald Turner, Ph.D.